<b>Christian Covington</b><br>Lott Impact Trophy Watch List


Covington Added to Lott Impact Trophy Watch List

Aug. 19, 2014

Lott Impact Trophy

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. - The preseason honors continue to roll in for junior defensive tackle Christian Covington, as he is one of four players added to the Lott Impact Trophy Watch List on Tuesday. The award honors college football's top defensive player who exemplifies the best in character and performance.

Covington has already been named a preseason all-conference team member and all-America honoree by Phil Steele, and is on watch lists for the Outland Trophy, Rotary Lombardi Award, Chuck Bednarik Award and Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

Last season, the Vancouver, B.C. native was named a first-team All C-USA pick by league coaches as well as Dave Campbell's Texas Football's All-Texas College second team. He was the first sophomore DT from Rice to be honored as first-team, all-conference since the return of two-platoon football. He led the Owls with a career-high 11.5 tackles for loss among his 59 stops, including four sacks and was a member of the 2013 C-USA Commissioner's Honor Roll.

The Lott Impact Trophy also added Washington State lineman Xavier Cooper, Virginia safety Anthony Harris and Michigan linebacker Jake Ryan to the list. Covington is the only Conference USA player on the list and is joined by TCU's Sam Carter, Baylor's Bryce Hager and Texas' Cedric Reed as the only student-athletes in the Lone Star State on the list.

Founded in 2004 by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the Lott IMPACT Trophy, named for Pro Football Hall of Fame member Ronnie Lott, is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and a distinguished group of former college football head coaches.

UCLA linebacker Anthony Barr became the 10th Lott IMPACT Trophy winner in 2013, joining a stellar list of past winners including Manti Teo', JJ Watt, Luke Kuechly and a host of NFL stars. Sponsors for the Lott IMPACT Trophy include Mercedes-Benz and United Airlines and to date, the Foundation has donated more than $1 million to various charities throughout the country.

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned