Three Owls Named to CFPA Watch Lists

July 22, 2014

College Football Performance Awards Watch Lists

The College Football Performance Awards released its watch lists for each position on Tuesday, including three Owls: cornerback Bryce Callahan, defensive tackle Christian Covington and punter James Farrimond.

The CFPA is currently in its seventh season of player and team performance recognition, ranking success across all phases of the game. Twenty-eight individual CFPA winners have been first-round NFL Draft selections. The CFPA will announce its 2014 award winners on Jan. 14, 2015.

Callahan is among 42 players on the CFPA Defensive Back Trophy Watch List, along with Conference USA foes Kevin Byard (Middle Tennessee) and D'Joun Smith (Florida Atlantic). The Cypress native is one of three Rice players on the Preseason All-Conference USA team.

Covington, also a member of the preseason all-C-USA squad, ranks among the 40 players on the CFPA Defensive Lineman Trophy Watch List. The Vancouver native is the only C-USA player on the watch list, which includes returning winner Shilique Calhoun (Michigan State).

Farrimond, a junior from San Antonio, is among 38 punters on the CFPA Watch List that includes reigning 2013 Punter Trophy winner Kyle Christy (Florida). Sean Kelley (Florida Atlantic), Hunter Mullins (UAB) and Tyler Williams (Marshall) also represent C-USA on the watch list.

The defending C-USA champs take part in Conference USA Media Day on Wednesday, July 23, in Dallas and open preseason camp in early August. The season kicks off on Aug. 30 at Notre Dame.

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned