Bradshaw and Isgren to Lead Owl Club

Feb. 15, 2012

The Board of Directors of the Owl Club has appointed a pair of longtime Rice supporters to serve in the lead roles for the club during 2012. Steve Bradshaw has been appointed President, while Carl Isgren has been appointed Vice President by the 22-member board.

"I am honored and pleased to be selected as President of the Owl Club Board of Directors," Bradshaw said. "I firmly believe this organization and its donations are vital to the success of our Division I A athletic program. With the University's continued support, the Owl Club Board will focus on increasing participation and donation levels in order to achieve a high standard of excellence in all our team sports," Bradshaw stated.

Bradshaw was a three-year letter winner for the Owls (1967-69) as a defensive lineman. In his senior season he was honored by his teammates with the George Martin Award as the team MVP and was also named team captain. He was honored for his work in the classroom as well, earning Academic All American honors. He graduated with a degree in mathematics in 1970 and received his Masters from the University of Texas in 1972. He currently is a Vice President at Oceaneering International, Inc.

Isgren majored in both accounting and economics at Rice, graduating magna cum laude in 1961. He enjoyed a successful career in the health care industry while maintaining an active role at Rice. He served on the Board of Trustees from 2004-08 and was a founder of Jones Partners, the support group for the Jones Graduate School. In 2001 he was honored for his lifetime of support for Rice Athletics with the Honorary "R" Award.

The Owl Club's mission is to directly support the overall goals of the Rice University Athletic Department by generating the funds for scholarships for our student-athletes in 16 varsity sports. It strives to embrace and engage the most dedicated Owl fans within the Rice University community to further promote the passion and camaraderie that makes the University so unique.

Joining Bradshaw and Isgren, as members of the Owl Club Board of Directors who will guide the club's initiatives are: Bucky Allshouse, Clarke Anderson, Ann Bixby, Mike Ecklund, Karen George, Wanna Hadnott, Loyd Hayton, Tom Hetherington, John Huff, Blake Hutchinson, Jennifer Kneale, Jay Lamy, Sarah Longpre, Adam Peakes, Jeff Rose, Helen Savitzky, Bill Stone, Brett Wagner, Scott Wise and Chuck Yates.

Print Friendly Version